19 and suffering from cervical rib

Posted , 4 users are following.

After 3 years of trips to hospital, 1 exploratory op on my wrist, 2 ops for carpal tunnel on my wrist, and endless mri's and nerve testing, my consultant did a x ray on my front chest and found i have a extra rib on my right side and extra tissue on my left, which is trapping my nerves; which causes the pain and pins and needles in my hands. I live with chronic pain every day, ive been having physio for 2 months now, ive tried stretches and even tried accupucnture. But nothing is working even my physio doesnt know where to go next, what is the surgery like, how bad is it? you here all these bad experiences yet some have good experences. Im studying at university and going into teaching. Im young and worried im stuck like this for life. Its an emotional rollercoaster i live on. anyone have any pointers or advice in what i can do to make life better for myself. 

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi laura, It's been nearly two years for since they told me that I had cervical ribs on both sides. I to had physio and accupuncnture, but neither helped. pain killers don't touch it. so I know what you are going threw. all I can say your age help's with any op for recovery. and find I good consultant who has done this op before. don't listen to any horror stories about op ! The pain is really bad I no. I do breathing exerises when at the worse. and when I go to bed if I lie on one side I put a pillow under my arm so it's level with my shoulder nearly. there is not alot I can say to you. good luck.

• Posted