30mg Mirtazapine - So angry - Mood swings. Help

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi, I am new to this but need some help from people in same situation. 

I have been on/off different anti depressants since having my son 3 years ago. I have been taking 30mg of Mirtazapine for 5 weeks now and have been suffering with mood swings, I get really angry at the flick of a switch. Things that would never bother me make me fly off the handle. I'm a real joy to be around (NOT). I have many other side effects too incl night sweats, vivid dreams, lack of energy and complete loss of get up and go. I am seriously thinking of stopping these with immediate effect. Any advise?

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

I have to say I'm feeling exactly the same although the dreams which were initially nightmares has tapered slightly.

I still get the night sweats though and switch between being a sobbing emotional wreck to almost overly happy....

I hope things change/improve for you, go see your GP for advice x

• Posted

I'm sorry you are suffeing with the side effects too, and hope they improve too. 

I have called my docotor and hopefully when they call back they can help. 

Just cant cope with this angry feeling all the time. x

• Posted

I advise you NOT to stop suddenly. Reduce gradually if your doctor agrees. Even after only 5 weeks you could get withdrawal symptoms and they are worse than the original depression in my experience!
  • Posted

I agree with Pixie. Do not just stop taking this medicine. Take 3/4 of a dose for at least ten days and then cut down by another quarter and so on. You may have to go even slower than this, but hopefully not as you haven't been on them long.