45 and Afib

Posted , 5 users are following.

Recently I went to my annual treadmill test to put some stress on my heart. When in rest they said I had an Afib rythym. So I went again a week later and same thing. I've seen my own doctor and now a Cardiologist. I've been in and out of the rythym but showed a 7 hour episode when I was on a monitor.

Now a little history. I'm a wildland firefighter/endurance athlete that has been on the job for 25 years. In that time I've ran 4-5 days a week with a day of labor intensive hiking with gear. I played sports all through high school Football, Baseball, Basketball, and Running.

Last but not least I've consumed alot of alcohol in my lifetime and the day before my treadmill test I consumed a lot. Rum and Coke. Caffiene and Alcohol. I believe that I have pushed my heart into Afib based on lifestyle and history. Also I have a 4 month old son that doesn't allow me to sleep. Anybody think I'm crazy to think that my Afib is temporary. I stopped drinking alcohol and caffiene the day of my treadmill test but I still haven't had any sleep. Any suggestions. Any help?

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Are you taking a blood thinner ? Has your doctor prescribed any other medications?

Sleep is very important because lack of it causes stress which can trigger AFIB .

I understand the need to function on lack of sleep with a baby but you have to be careful and at very least take a blood thinner.

Hope this helps ?Best , Didi

• Posted

Not on blood thinners yet. I'm taking aspirin. I'm stressed out because I'm studying for a Chief's test. That hasn't helped and either does my son's feeding and crying at night. I watched some youtube videos. Great information about magnesium, potassium, hydration, vegetables, and many other things. Thanks again.

• Posted

I'm a little sceptical, but think that it's not I'm possible for you to be lucky if you address all h AF risk factors.