4cm ascending aorta aneurysm 53yrs

Posted , 17 users are following.

Hello there, 

Im 53 yr female and I have just been diagnosed with a thoracic ascending aortic aneurysm of 4cm, still in shock as I never expected it, as I'm not a smoker, neither a drinker, doesn't run in the family. I have to follow up and check if it will grow etc. In 6months. I'm in a lot if stress. I would be so thankful if you all can provide some additional information.  First question is: is there any possibility that it will never grow? Is it possible to stay 4cm for ever? According to my dr that's possible. On my search all most all aneurysms are growing! Don't know what to think😳?

0 likes, 27 replies

27 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hello,

I was diagnosed with the same condition four years ago when I was 64. Like you, I was in such shock because I only went for an echo as I had been having some irregular beats. I think I overreacted at the time because I was a nurse and thought of the worst case outcome. I had a follow up CT scan and then an MRI. Both showed the aneurysm to be 4.1 whereas the echo had stated 4.6. I had six month tests for a year and then yearly. So far it has not grown but they have discovered that I have a bicuspid aortic valve which often goes with the condition. At the last echo, the senior technician thought that I probably will never need surgery as the valve seems to be coping fairly well. I have stopped worrying about it now because the anxiety was taking over my life and i suddenly realised that but for the test I would never have known anyway. However I am glad that it was found, because I get tested regularly and if it got worse action would be taken. I am a bit careful lifting things though, but that is probably because of my age! The cardiologist said that it is in the nature of aneurysms to grow but it could remain the same for years. I hope yours remains within limits and good luck.

• Posted