8 months post rectocele surgery pain

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi everyone

Well  it's been a while since I've posted on this forum my recovery went reasonably well, just a small hiccup of a DVT at 8 weeks post surgery and having had a DVT, before resulted in now having to take blood thinners permanently but I'm ok with this - it is what it is 😊.  I have noticed in the last couple of weeks (since I had a slight cough) that I'm experiencing pain down below! Now today,  I have had throbbing pain again down below on the left hand side, on and off and excruciating sharp shooting back ache. I have had to take strong painkillers this evening.  Has anyone else had this or have any idea why this is happening? Is it normal so long after surgery and should I go and get it checked? Any thoughts or advice would be appreciated. X

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi Annette. I'm no expert but if the pain is bad you should get it checked as it's 8 months since your surgery. There could still be a few deep stitches inside though, some take a long time to dissolve from what I've read on this forum. If Matron sees your post she will probably come on and speak to you with good advice. Which part of your back is affected by the pain? Is it central, lumbar or lower down? Is the abdominal pain in pelvis or groin or inside? Are you weeing well, are you constipated? If so maybe a stool softener or gentle laxative and plenty of fluids would help. In the meantime you should rest with feet up and see if this helps pain. It's weekend so there might not be as many answers before Monday now. Best wishes, Poll. xrolleyes

• Posted

I would get checked, I'm 5 mos post op and have no pain at all, do u excercise cause my dr. Said to definitely move around and be active.hope all is ok

• Posted