Accepting having Achalasia

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi everyone,

This is my first time on here although i have been reading your comments on here and on others sites for afew weeks trying to find out as much as i can about Achalasia as i have been told resantly this is what i have after having a barium swallow and then a Gesophageal manometry. It seems kind of strange having been given a name to something i have been living with most of my life i just didnt know what it was i just put it down to my stomarch not working right. I first went to the doctors 13 years ago about food not going down and bringing some of it back up, I had a gastroscopy done then it showed the junction between my oesophagus and stomach was slow to open but nothing more was done so i just carried on with just avoiding foods i know i couldnt eat and never attempting to eat anything without having water with me. Im 33 now and ive been living with this since i was about 18 i recantly went back to the doctors as things have got worse over time and i coud no longer pretend im fine. This time i had all the test done and now i have a name for whats wrong.

The only thing now is that the surgeon wants me to have the Heller myotomy surgery which im kind of getting my head around it just seems to be happening quickly. Ive been living this way for so long now the way i eat food is normal to me. I guess im just not sure of what i should expect my life to be like afterwards this is why ive been reading as much as i can online. afew peaple have said after the surgery its great and others have said they still struggle to eat this is what i dont understand if they remove the musle then how does it become thight again. Ive got an appointment soon with my consultant i think i will go armed with questions. I know ive prob gone on abit its just been reasuring that there are others like me out there that understand what its like to constantly have a to battle with food everyday.

2 likes, 19 replies