Achilles' tendon surgery tomorrow for full rupture and no idea how long I'll be off work?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Ruptured my AT two weeks ago playing squash. All the usual symptoms although not as painful as my previous calf tear - although now I'm starting to realise it's much more serious. And not a quick return to sport sad

I'm in for surgery tomorrow morning and having read loads over the last fortnight, still not sure what the immediate post op advice is. It seems everyone has a slightly different experience.

I'm a self employed graphic designer and eager to know when I can sit at a desk again and do some work to keep the wheels turning.

Should I be lying down with foot elevated above heart for first few days or much longer?

Really appreciate any advice from other who have gone through the same journey...

Cheers

Kris

0 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

Good luck! My conservative treatment meant lots of sofa surfing with the leg up and resting, but I could sit at a desk with the leg supported pretty soon; I'd have thought you could arrange a laptop / drawing board (do they still use these?,.... ) around you. I was off work for a month, but working from home on a lappy very soon
    • Posted

Thanks Tim. Just heading in now.

Unfortunately it's no longer on drawing boards (happy old days) although it'll be much easier to have mac on my lap smile

Glad to hear you're healing well...

• Posted