Acid reflux?

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi there,

im new to this part of this site......I'm female 46, Slim build Not Overweight nor underweight either.....follow a good diet and occasionally have some glasses of wine ( probably biggest downfall!!).. I know about sleeping head tucked onto few pillows etc and mainly what to keep away from Don't like spicy food anyway

the medication I'm on Omerprazole take when needed ...BUT the last week or two I have been in some awful pain tightness under my breastbone and now added with back pain and not a nice tst in my mouth.??

is this medication good or is there a better product out there? I have had acid reflux for 10 years and this is my 2nd different medication...I had a appoitment this morning with a GP and asked about this medication said it was the best for me and keeping me on this what he has done is I have Gaviscon douuble action 2x5 mls after food and before I goto bed?

the pain under my breast bone is tight and very uncomfortable and feel soooo sick with this CAN someone give me some good advice please 10 years I have suffered but the pain , uncomfortable,espicially in my backs I have not experienced this before im unsure of what I can do drink or eat as I daren't do anything incase I aggravate this?

thankyou.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Omeprazole ia a PPI (Proton Pump Inhibitor). PPIs are the best medication for reducing acid. They may not be very effective about reducing reflux - no drug is available to do that.

The vagus nerve lies right alongside the oesophagus and can be responsible for refered pain almost anywhere in the upper torso. Always have chest pains investigated in case it's heart but it is probably to do with reflux.