Admitting I am an alcoholic for the first time ever

Posted , 13 users are following.

This is my first time I have ever done anything like this, but I feel its time to try to make changes in my lift. 

I have been drinking between 30-50 units of alcohol a week for the past 9 years or so, I dont drink everyday - have 3-4 drink free days a week, but i get drunk about twice a week. 

I have told no one about this, everyone knows i like a drink, but my family and friends have no idea what I am going through. 

I dont smoke, eat healthy and exercise reguarly, so I give off the impression that everything is ok. 

I just want to get to the place where I dont want to drink all the time, and where I can have a weekend night without wanting to get hammered. 

This is really hard for me, I am fed up of being this person, I feel so alone with it. 

0 likes, 29 replies

29 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hello Sarah,

Each one of us is alone with it... it is such a personal battle.  We can help each other though, by sharing our "ups and downs" and by giving and taking advice.

It is a big step to admit the situation.  I am an alcoholic too, but I don't like admitting it.  You can have some alcohol- free days, each week... so that is great... that is some control.  Take hope from that.  

Have you confided in your G.P.?

There is medication available that helps you cut down.  I am taking Selincro/Nalmefene.  

You have come to this Forum... brilliant second step on your new journey.

I wish you well.  You are moving in the right direction.

You are really not alone, anymore.

Happy landings(angel joke),

Alonangel 🎇

• Posted

Hello Sarah,

You don't need to call yourself an alcoholic, we don't judge people here. With the odd exception, most of us have been/are in some sort of a similar situation that you find yourself in.

The advantage of this fourm, is that you can learn through other's knowledge without have to suffer the learning experience as well.