Advice for newly diagnosed bowel cancer please

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi. I live in Canada, I am 49, and I was told I have a tumor in my right intestine after a colonoscopy I had last Wednesday (3rd August). I appreciate this is a UK forum (I am British, not that it matters) but I am hoping that users here can give me information about what to expect and accept regarding timelines, what delays and timelines are normal, and if a week or two's delay will make any difference. I am new to this smile

To cut a long story short, I will not undergo a CAT scan for another two weeks (19 August). So obviously I cannot have surgery until after that date. Should I be concerned at the delay?

I began having digestive problems (constipation) about 9 months ago, and I thought I had resolved the problem by cutting out gluten. I continued with the medical tests just in case. Oh my, what a surprise.

I can feel the tumor inside. I have for a long time, but didn't know what it was. So maybe it's big? Yesterday I began to have lancing pains. Perhaps I ate too much. I did help lift some heavy stuff. I won't do that again. The lancing pain has stopped, so I'm not too concerned, but I am being careful what I eat.

How urgent is this? I've read of other people with bowel cancer having lancing pains for months. From what I read this process can take years. Do I need to be patient and wait for the CAT scan in two weeks, or should I try to get a private scan (I'm not sure if that would speed anything up anyway).

I'm a little anxious and want to have an understanding if this timeline is normal and safe (relatively) or should I be screaming at people to hurry up because every day could make a difference? I'll probably think of something else to ask later smile Thanks.

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted