AF

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi to everyone. Lately I have been diagnosed with AF. I was given anticoagulant (Eliquis). Is AF serious? I am a mathematics professor. My classes are in the fourth floor of one building where I climb the stairs three times on Mon, wed and fri. On tues and thurs, I go from building to another building from 7am to 4pm. I do not have history on heart disease and bad cholesterol tho I have hyperthyrodism for ten years now which is being monitored. I am asthmatic too and take simbicort twice a day. No one in my family has /had hear disease. Actually my mother's cousins are ages 96,98, 100 and stiil live. My father died of larengeal cancer a year ago. I hope I could be enlightened with my condition now.

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

BTW, I am 53 years old. with 130 pounds weight and 5"9 tall. I monitor my weight too.
  • Posted

Good morning. AF is quite common and nothing to worry about unduely. I am guessing you have been put on Apixaban pending Cardioversion. In my case I developed AF due to Congestive Heart Failure and even though this is quite seriuos I was cardioverted and with the help of medication I was leading a full and active life. I was fitted with a Pacemaker back in May to help my damaged heart work more efficiently and feel pretty much back to normal. From what you say I don't think your situation is as seriuos and Cardioversion should hopefully get you back on track. Hope this helps.
  • Posted

Tet ,  it seems that your AF is mild and somesort of common type. 

The best treatment is digoxin 0.25 or lanoxin ( skip two days in week ) + metoprolol 25 mg bid . 

Do a regular exersice and aerobic 15 minutes a day. Not a big deal. 

Sincerely. Dr . Aidin

• Posted

Thanks for enlightening me Dr. Aidin.
    • Posted

thank you for enlightening me Dr. Aidin. 
    • Posted

You are welcome .

Dr. Aidin

• Posted

Digoxin...seriously?