Amlodipine affects on Kidneys

Posted , 8 users are following.

So I've been taking amlodipine for 3 weeks now. I was upped to 10 mg tabs a week ago. I drink about 50 ounces of water a day. Prior to upping the amlodipine I was running to the bathroom, now I'm only going about twice a day. It's like what I'm putting in isn't coming out. I have the other terrible side effects lethargy, tiredness, brain fog etc., but the lack of urine output scares me most especially since I had a kidney function test prior to this and my kidneys were perfect. Anyone else experience this?

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Let me say right up front that I am not a doctor and if you have any concern you should see your doctor ASAP.  That said, I offer this.  If  your body is taking in more water than it is sending back out I believe you should notice some swelling in the extremities.  If you are seeing any of that I recomend you do something quickly as fluid retention potentially can cause some seriousl issues.
    • Posted

I don't see any obvious fluid retention. My legs ache a bit but that's about it. I've started drinking water every hour and I'm going to the bathroom and bit better. My doctor also prescribed a water pill with this medication so I'll get that from the pharmacy as I wasn't certain it was necessary.

• Posted

Hello, I had similar symptoms whilst taking half your dose. Changed to Imdapamide a month ago and lost some of the "stored" fluid. With only one kidney I do worry about any medication. So far I feel so much better, all the aches in joints have gone, plus the foggy head as well..

there are plenty of types of BP tablets out there, so speak to your Doc and maybe try some other brand, Good luck.

• Posted

I did well on 5mg but my doctor wasn't pleased with my results my pressure was 148/100. I go to a new doctor on Thursday and will see if he can change my meds.

• Posted

Nail