Anticipating highs and lows

Posted , 4 users are following.

I'm hoping someone can help me, or give me some pointers. Ive had the same problem for a number of years now but it is definitely getting worse. When a major event or an enjoyable experience come along, such as a vacation or my wedding, I spend so long looking forward to them and they consume my life. Then when they are over it can take me months of feeling low to get over. In some cases I have to take time of work and cant even bring myself to get out of bed. More recently though, I have started to anticipate the lows before the highs have even finished! I can be sitting a week into my three week honeymoon feeling depressed at how quickly it is going in! Is there a way to smooth the highs and lows?

1 like, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Hi darkbeforedawn I'm deanie I'm no professional but I get the exact same and I'm at the point where I'm expecting it to happen when I'm in the lows it's so mis arable and I'm embarrassed I don't want anyone to see me thing don't get done cause I don't ge up out of bed but I have to be at work everyday at 4pm so that kinda snaps me out of it but not really I think I may come across grumpy but I don't mean to be or like sad but I try not to but my boyfriend don't judge me on it I think it makes it so much worse if you are being judged or told off . He's always positive for me expects me to try but if I'm have moments I don't get up or there's three baskets of washing he just don't yell or anything he will say come on time to he up lets go to work I get ready and we go and fir some reason it really helps we sit we talk even if it's for an hour he listens soooo???? so what I'm trying to say I guess don't get down on yourself when things get left undone cause I think that's a factor u get down then you overthink all the problems that are being caused on the down ....if u know what I mean .... And yes I also get to the point when I'm in a high I think to myself omg how long