Anxeity please help

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi all got diagnosed with graves about 8 months ago and was suffering with Anxeity got put on carbimazole 30 mg am now hypo and stopped carbimazole and the anxeity is back worse than before been on citalopram dazepam and propanalol for 3 weeks and nothing is working is this constant anxeity a part of graves I am really struggling have been doing anxeity relaxation and hypnosis on youtube for about a week and nothing is working really need help with this as am about to be a dad and want to be right before she is born. just want some relief from this constant anxeity please please help

1 like, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

I am on sertraline for my anxiety, it got really bad. Anxiety is a part of graves that I wish I never had because it's debilitating. I hope you find a solution to your anxiety before you're little bundle of joy comes, congrats!

• Posted

Hi Jon,

I'm no expert and there are some great ladies here who will be able to answer you better but my first thought was, why would the doc have you stop anti-thyroid meds completely? The dose should've been lowered until your levels go back up to the normal range. Stopping entirely is probably what's causing you to have anxiety because your levels are high again. 30mgs seems very high dose so I'm not surprised you went hypo. I started with 10mgs and slowly went down to 2.5. Hope this helps.

• Posted

Hi Jon .....   try to stay focused ... and I know that's not easy as Graves' disease ...  makes most sufferers  very anxious and distressed at times 

When I saw my Endocrinologist  he asked how I felt ?

I said  I feel like I'm going downhill in my car at 100 miles an hour with no brakes ... and all I am doing is desperately trying to work out how to stop.

I was screaming inside with anxiety ..

I personally ,  and I know others on this site  for sure , have talked about Motherwort Bugleweed and Lemon Balm ...