Any post op hippies that are nurses??

Posted , 6 users are following.

Just wondering if any hippies on here are nurses?

If so how have you coped with the pre and post op events and work??

I am a nurse mainly based on community clinics but have driving and office work too with apprx 70 pts seen daily.

My consultant says i would be looking at 6mths off sick.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Well, I am not a Nurse but as a postie, I have been told 3 months off work and then many weeks of rehab. 
  • Posted

I am a community mental health social worker, so similar work pattern. I was told 6 to 12 weeks off. I am 5 weeks PO now, and I don't feel at all ready!
  • Posted

Hi Angela,

I'm a midwife working in a large busy hospital. I work long 12 1/2 HR shifts and am now 5 weeks post op. I struggled for a long time pre op, limping really badly and struggled to bend down etc.. Pain awful but never took a day off sick. I always managed to swap shifts for my appointments but had a CT scan appt due at the start of a night shift, at a different hospital, i attended and just started work a little later. I was originally told as I'm not too old and quite fit I would recover very quickly but it was a complicated op. I'm not weight bearing for 3 months so probably will be off for 5 months?? Occy health have been in touch and advised not to return to work until I'm fully recovered, but I won't anyway, when your back your back! Could go on and on but not on here.

Have you been referred to occupational health? They are really very supportive.

• Posted

Hi Vicky, i have not had any time off for over two years which is a miracle with the pain!

I have been lucky so far to get time owed to attend apts or half hour etc to go for xrays and was on leave when i had a recent injection in the hip.

I had fast physio at work for back pain (have bad disc trouble) but stopped this as made me worse lol.