Anyone have symptoms come back after decompression surgery

Posted , 15 users are following.

I had decompression surgery in July '16. It felt good not to have pain afterwards. Just recently after Christmas my symptoms came back. Migraines, blurred vision, loss of balance and so on.

My neuro surgeon told me symptoms might come but didn't know that soon. I'm getting a second MRI done to see if any changes from before.

My question is has anybody has a 2nd surgery and is it worth it? I can't take heavy meds due to I'm a school bus driver.

Has anyone went on permanent disability due to Chiari?

TIA...

0 likes, 28 replies

28 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Yes is the answer.to symptoms. My Neurosurgeon, top in this country, admitted in a letter to me that in a survey around 20% of his patients reported some symptoms after surgery. Don't forget the Chiari affected the brain, thats why you had the operation. I had my decompression/ cauterisation back in 2008 and still get some of the symptoms. A further MRI last year showed that the hernination had not reoccured, but possible CSF problems might be the cause 

• Posted

Hi,

I had the surgery in 2014. I have iprogressively gotten worse. I went on Short Term Disability and after six months went to Long Term Disability. As soon as LTD could file with Social Security they did.The way my insurance worked once my claimed was accepted by SS was

1. LTD paid 60 % of my employer salary

2. SS paid the diff of my SS disability and my employer salary until 66 in my case

In my case my employers insurance company worked to get my claim accepted by SS.