Asthma disappeared

Posted , 3 users are following.

I was diagnosed with asthma when I was 14 but never really needed to use an inhailer 10 years ago I was diagnosed again by a consultant as asthmatic as I was having breathing problems.  I have just been seen by my doctors nurse again for asthma clinic and have been told that I dont have asthma I am now very confused as although my asthma is not bad i do get wheezy at times and do get an asthma cough.  I asked the nurse if asthma can just go away and she said yes I am now 43 and am very confused as I have had to use my inhailer over christmas but I am not astmatic apparently anyone else heard of this ????

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi donna. Well I would listen to a consultant rather than a nurse (and I am a nurse). He will have more experience and access to up to date tests etc. What gives her the right to contradict him? Has she seen your Xrays if you had any that is? I would ring the consultants secretary and ask her to tell the consultant what the nurse said and ask his opinion. Asthma can be very serious. The nurse was in my opinion, unprofessional.
    • Posted

Thank you for this as I am so confused I saw a consultant about 12 years ago for a while until he got it under control and I have not seen him since. I mentioned this to the nurse and she said they do it all differently now and when they have monitored my peak flow over the past few weeks I no longer qualify as asthmatic I am confused she basically shoved me out of the door and said I should keep monitoring my peak flow and go back if it gets worse I am not sure what to do now
  • Posted