B12, folate and ferritin ..... Need advice please

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi, I'm new to this but am desperate for some advice. I am totally exhausted 24/7, I wake up exhausted and usually with a headache, I walk into things (like staggering), I have palpitations, flashing vision, lightheadedness, tingling and numb feet and hands (just fingers), mild joint pain, lots of bruises, I'm pale and look ill all the time. I'm 35 and have 2children (7 year old and 11 month old). I eat well and do dance twice a week. I'm not overweight, maybe slightly underweight. I'm not depressed but I'm starting to feel low because of how rubbish I always feel. I do suffer with anxiety and insomnia. I take 100mcgs of Levothyroxine for under active thyroid. Here are my blood results

Serum b12 303 ng/L

Folate serum 4.9ug/l

ferritin serum 30 ug/l

Hb 139

White cell count 5

There are loads more results listed under FBC, all fall with normal, but some are on low end.

I'm thinking I might get some b12 spray or dissolving tablets, or patches? And maybe take folate and iron tablets too? I've also been looking into whether to buy t3 tablets for my thyroid to see if that helps?

Thank you in you are still reading, if you can offer any advice I'd really appreciate it. I'm desperate to feel well again.

1 like, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi Tiffany do you know the range for folate, i think it should be higher , if you start taking 5mg folic acid that will bring your b12 to where it should be, b12 will prob go abit lower if you start taking folic acid, i really think you need injections of b12 to get into the cells, am not sure about iron if you dont need it its not wise to take, am sure some else with more medical experience will write xx
  • Posted