been on mirtazapine for 6 days for depression

Posted , 4 users are following.

What symptoms are people having after taking this drug mine are feeling drowsy constantly feel numb headache tummy ache help!

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

You're not alone with your symptoms. Had a similar experience. I've been taking Mirtazapine 30mg for 18 months. From my own experience, those symptoms pass away after a week or two. 

Focus on the any benefits. View the pillshas a route out of whatever problems you are facing.

I take Mirtazapine about an hour before bedtime. If I need to get up earlier than normal, then I'll take the pills corresponding earlier.

So you ought to stick with the medication for a while. 

(usual disclaimer: I'm not a doctor, this is non professonal advice. If in doubt, see your doctor)

• Posted

Hi Kathleen

I hope Mirtazapine helps you - bear in mind that it contains a slow release sedative that can last 24/7, it does for me, although some say it wears off in the afternoon.  Yes, it's best to take it before bedtime, you can move the time to suit your getting up routine.

The sedation is quite disabling for the first week, your system may get used to it in the second week ~ I wish doctors would tell their patients this as it is quite a shock at first.

The headache and tummy ache doesn't sound right, I wonder if this will settle down, if not talk to your doctor.

Wishing you well. 

• Posted

Calmer, good advice about Mirtazapine and the bedtime routine. With some trial and error, you can settle on a good routine. 
    • Posted