Benign Postural Vertigo

Posted , 7 users are following.

I have just been diagnosed with vertigo for the third time and i am only 25. The first and second experiences were caused by an infection in the inner ear. This time they say that it is benign postural vertigo, and that something in my neck is pressing on the nerves that stabilise my balance. I have been advised to see a massuse about my neck or an osteopath. I have also been prescribed 10 days of prochlorperazine tablets. I have never taken these before and hope that they give no side affects. Has anyone else been told its something to do with your posture? i work as a personal trainer so find this amusing!

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

I am several years older and have suffered vertigo before which has cleared fairly fast.  My present attack started a fortnight ago and was initialy treated with Stematil (same as you) which controlled the nausea.  However I have just talked to my GP who diagnosed BPPV.  He  indicated that crystals had formed and these needed to be dislodged.  He said tablets are not the answer to my situation, but to try the exercises described.n Maybe this may help you. 
  • Posted

I too have vertigo this is no fun also doing balance excercises done epsey manuer still  feel really I'll  and swaying inside all the time also have tinnitus going on now for four years bummed out don't know if excercises are working or not should i feel like this they say keep it up 

• Posted