Bisoprolo And Heart Rate

Posted , 7 users are following.

I had a Stemi in lad and 2 stents fitted almost 4 months ago.My Bisoprolo has just been increased to 7.5mg. just checked bp and it reads 93/63 heartrate 35.My question is how low can your heart rate go to be considered safe.What would happen if it went too low, would you just faint?

0 likes, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

Hi I'm sure the info says they don't liike yr heart rate below 60 .below 40is termed heart block. I'd recheck yr heart rate and if still low discuss with yr Gp. Yes you'd feel faint /dizzy /sleepy .I'm an ex nurse.
    • Posted

Athletes tend to have very low heart rates. My GP who is also a Sports Doctor himself runs marathons and prides himself on his 40's heart rate.

In March when a hospital triage nurse checked my BP she asked if I had been very fit when I was young. I asked why and she commented on my 40's heart rate. I denied every having being fit and have since  had a seven day ECG monitor and been diagnosed with Tachy Bradcardia and am waiting for a pacemaker.

• Posted

Hi Julie

I often feel tired from beta blockers with my pulse just being 55-60. Is this then too low, when my normal resting is 85-100 in afternoon

• Posted

55-60 should be ok but discuss with yr GP next time you see them or earlier if concerned. As others say for some people are fine with resting pulse of 40 but that's generally athletes whose bodies have adapted due to their fitness.. 
    • Posted

One time my heart rate went up to 136. A doctor gave me bisoprolol and told me to take one 2.5mg then and another at night and then one a day. On the scond morning my heart rate was only 36.
  • Posted

My heart rate was normally in the 40's but it has gone up into the 130's. Once when it went up to 136 a doctor prescribed Bisoprolol and told me to take a 2.5mg right away and another at night and then one a day. On the second morning my heart rate was down to 36. I was then told to just take 1.25mg.