blephari tis steroid drops

Posted , 11 users are following.

Is there any truth in the rumour that steroid eye drops for bleph can lead to complications? My GP will not let me have them for this reason, she says. I've been using wet ones for three or four months but past couple of weeks they just haven't worked and I'm miserable with the complaint and desperate for something that will help.

0 likes, 49 replies

49 Replies

Next
  • Posted

https://patient.info/doctor/blepharitis-pro

Have you read the page on Patient uk?  It is very interesting and informative.

Steroids can cause cataracts.  Doctors don't prescribe them unnecessarily.

Just looking at your photo Fiona, do you always wear eye makeup?  My Ophthalmologist told me not to get any creams etc near my eyes because they block the meibomian glands and cause problems.  He also told me to soak a flannel in a solution of baby shampoo or similar and place on the eyes for 10 minutes twice a day.  He told me to use hand hot water.  I seldom have a problem with Blepharitis any more.  I have other eye conditions, which is why I see an Ophthalmologist.

Do you have dry eyes?  It might help you to use artificial tears too.  Personally, I wouldn't use Wet Ones.

Have you asked to be referred to the hospital clinic?

Good luck.

• Posted

I understand now that steroids wouldn't be a safe bet particularly as glucoma runs in my family, however I am loathe to use baby shampoo as it would I feel sure sting my eyes, they are very delicate when I have these flare ups at least the wet ones do not sting.

The photo graph was taken about a year before I developed bleph, I seldom wear it now.

I have seen the hospital clinic once, they failed to diagnose bleph, it was down to my optician who diagnosed it at the time, some time after I had seen the hospital

• Posted