Blepharitis and lash extensions?

Posted , 34 users are following.

I have been wearing lash extensions for four years. About six months ago, my eyes started bothering me. I didn't think too much of it until I saw my opthamologist yesterday. She said the pours in my eyelids were clogged and she diagnosed me with blepharitis. I asked if I should have my lashes removed and she said yes, it's a start. Has anyone else developed blepharitis after wearing lash extensions? The woman who does my lashes is extremely professional and is considered the best in my area. I'm hoping I can remove my lashes for a month or so, develop a regime that clears things up, then go back to having lashes. I appreciate any feedback.

2 likes, 94 replies

94 Replies

Prev Next
  • Edited

Susan,

First I don't understand:lash extensions is the same as falsies, that is fake lashes that are worn on the top of our  natural lashes?

I am working right now on falsies. I have worn them at home just to check how I will feel with my bleh-s.

Seems like they don't bother me. But ? I will wear them only for a couple of hours anyway. 

Your doctor told you to remove eyelashes. I have read so MANY inputs on this site but never heard about removing  lashes. They might not grow back. I would never do it. There are many ways to manage bleh-s.

Its not curable but could be managed. Stay on this site you will learn a lot.

• Posted

hi Rita, I think the doctor meant the lash extensions should be removed along with the glue adhering the lash as the pores were blocked. That’s how I read it. Is that right Susan?
    • Edited

I have worn eyelash extensions for the past four years. They are 2-3 lashes that are adhered to my natural lashes by glue. Must be professionally done. Must also be professionally removed.
    • Posted