Bulging disc C5C6

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi all, I am a newbie to this so bear with me, I have had 3 MRI scans since 2008, 1st one carried out as this was due to pain in right shoulder down my arm at first, was given Rx of diclofenac, told it was frozen shoulder.

I then developed a stiff neck with some pain in right shoulder muscle. 2nd MRI carried out in 2009 as pain was now in whole of right arm, this was to rule out trapped nerve, nothing found so EMG done, this showed severe interruption in nerve signals in right arm and moderate in left. 1st Carpal tunnel op done April 2010, second Sept 2010. In the Oct 2011 i began with really uncomfortable pain in my neck and left shoulder with started to travel down to my left tricep, when i saw my consultant in the follow up appt in January 2011 he told me that this could be due to mobility and the way my second carpal tunnel op was carried out (laid flat arm out to the side palm up), and he would see me in 6 months. August 2011 after I chased my appointment up, told him that my symptoms had worsened.

My 3rd MRi was 14th Oct 2011, this showed disc bulge with inflammation in the tendon in my shoulder.

The pain is excruciating, it is now radiating from my neck, into my shoulder, down to my tricep and bicep muscles, i get a spasm in my lat muscle, in my elbow and a sharp stabbing pain in my forearm down to my wrist. I would rather go through child birth ( i have done that twice) than have this pain.

I have been taking Amitriptyline, then Gabapentin 300mg x3 times day, topped up with either 600mg ibuprofen as and when or Kapake. The medication merely takes the sharpness away and leaves me with a dull very painful ache, right down my left arm. I get little or no sleep.

I am due to see consultant again, this month, this was only because i kicked up a fuss at being seen in April to discuss my results and pain management.