bunion op

Posted , 5 users are following.

hi all had a bunion op just over two weeks ago,all well up to 2 days ago slight infectiom in the big toe stitch did not dissolve.got tablets to take,i go back in 4 weeks ago,i was hoping to go back to work 4 weeks after op but i am a delivery driver general labourer for my work this is going to be a long shot.there is no light duties i can do as have to wear the shoe still the flat one now,but have to wear safety boots at work.anyone got any advice for me please how long it takes to go back to work thanks carl

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi Carl, did you not ask your surgeon before the operation? To get back into safty boots might just take some time, as you will find that your feet will be swollen quite some time. Try lymphedic massages and keep up the cool packs on your feet. 4 weeks to get back into safty boots, very optimistic and you should have been told. Can you get the boots one size bigger?
    • Posted

hi they said it be least 6 weeks to be of work,i been told the basic info not been told do you have physio,i done my own to be fair.

• Posted

Physio is for mobilisation not to reduce swelling. The swelling is individuelle and depends on how fit you are and your age. The younger and fitter the quicker it reduces. Just keep up cooling your feet and try lymphetic massages, to help reducing the swelling. I had a different operation, micro invasive and still took me a while to get into my old shoes. I started with trainers a size bigger and gradually got into my normal shoes. All takes time and if they say at least 6 weeks, put another 4 on top.
    • Posted

hi so its looks like a 6 week break of work,been just over two weeks now,i am 34 and active and keep as fit as i can i dont smoke and really drink either,the nurse was happy with my progress part from the little infection in my big toe,no sign of swelling etc i never used the crutches either 
    • Posted