Bunion operation in Ireland

Posted , 16 users are following.

Hello everyone, I am new to this discussion. I am contemplating bunion surgery and hammertoe correction in July. Has anyone on the discussion board had this operation done in Ireland. Also has anyone had keyhole bunion surgery done in the UK. Mary

0 likes, 26 replies

26 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Mary

Can't really help you here as I had my surgery done in Tayside in Scotland and I didn't have keyhole surgery either! However I did get both feet done at once and that was, for me, a good move! I had bunion surgery on both feet and a hammertoe correction on my left foot. This was at the end of February this year and I'm just coming up for 6 weeks post op. I've been lucky and only really suffered pain for the first week, after that it's just been discomfort. My feet are healing nicely- or so it looks to me! I think the bit you have to be prepared for mentally is the six weeks of complete idleness..................sitting on a sofa with your feet up and getting up as little as possible. For me the six weeks hasn't been long enough- I guess I may be a slob at heart!!

Would I do it again- yes....my feet are going to look (and feel I hope) better than they have for ages.

This forum has been a great help- especially in the early days.

Good luck and let us know how you get on!

E

• Posted

Hello Mary.