Can anyone tell me about this lab test?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi all... My mom has been a bit depressed lately because she looked at an X-ray she took recently and it said this: PA and lateral views of the chest were obtained. Combination of: effects of left sided mastectomy and borderline diffuse COPD changes are constant. The lungs are clear, otherwise. No pleural abnormalities are discerned.The heart, mediastinum, and the pulmonary vasculature are within normal limits. The thoracic aorta is mildly tortuous and sclerotic. No lytic or blastic lesions of the bony thorax are found. --I'm studying to be an RN and I can translate this X-ray a little, but I'm wondering if anyone else here has had one similar to this and how you are dealing with it? My mom is also kind of upset that her other 2 X-rays in the past mentions emphysema but no one has ever mentioned it to her. Please help me understand. Thank you smile

1 like, 49 replies

49 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Go with your mother to see your GP and ask him to explain it to your mum in plain english not doctor speak.  Not being a doctor I can't say what this all means but your GP has a duty of Care to you mum and is obliged to explain it all to her.  Hope this is helpful xx Patsy43
  • Posted

Has she asked the person who did the x-ray or the doctor who referred her?   There'd be more point to that than asking strangers on the net to interpet an x-ray.

I'm confused by the reference to emphysema:  if no-one mentioned it to her how does she know past x-rays indicate that?  If she does have emphysema it's important for her to learn to take responsibility for managing the condition:  eg rehab, exercise, changing breathing methods.

• Posted