Cellulitis

Posted , 3 users are following.

Ok so I have a Cellulitis Abscess in my outer ear canal, I'm on antibiotics and going through the stage where the puss is coming out. Just need some ideas of how to keep it clean and what to use etc.. Much appreciated for any help

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

That sounds like a weird place to get cellulitis.. I hope it clears quickly. I need a little more info to help.. If there is any crusty build up from the puss that needs to be removed it should be softened under warm water (either in the shower or with a cloth) and then a topical anticeptic or antibiotic cream or spray applied. Are you on antibiotics? You probably should be. You can probably use a sea salt solution or diluted tea tree oil solution (this stuff will sting) and a q tip to clean around the area where puss is seeping.. Cleaning twice a day is ideal.. Make sure your hands are clean before you touch your ear at any time and consider covering it if possible at night to avoid aggravation.

Other option is to see a GP or pharmacist who will be able to evaluate your ear a little better and give you a suitable product for cleaning.

Keep us updated!

• Posted

I also think so myself..I've been researching as much as I can on the internet about it but I havent seen much info on it, besides cellulitis on places such as legs or hands. Yes my doctor prescribed me Flucloxacillin 1 4 times a day for over 7 days period. Day 2 of the course the abscess has gone down a huge amount and watery yellow liquid will leak from time. It's a completely painless but when it first formed it was really sore, itchy, tender etc. Thanks for the tip, I'll be sure to follow up on it.
    • Posted

I'm sure it's an absess. And it's downhill from here now that it's popped. Thanks for sharing...

Ladyjack51

• Posted