Clobetasol gel verus Clobetasol ointment

Posted , 5 users are following.

I was resently prescribed clobetasol gel. I have been using Clobetasol ointment off an on for the last 5-6 yrs. Why the change? Is one better or more potant than the other. I have had LS for 15 yrs now. I'm 36 now. I can't say my LS is under control.

0 likes, 20 replies

20 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I haven't heard of gel. I know the cream doesn't work as well as the ointment. You could try the gel but maybe call and ask why they changed it.
  • Posted

I never heard of gel. If you're not happy with the results so far, as my gynocologist wasn't after 18 months on clobetasol – she switched me to Protopic (Brand name of tacrolimus). It took six months, but I'm clear and had three adhesions on my perineum release and heal.
    • Posted

I don't know what to do any more! I have been on so many different medications. I know that was one that I was on for a while. I think maybe my gyn tried protopic before he put me on clobetasol. The way i remember I had severe burning with that as well. I have severe burning with Clobetasol, too. I wish I knew if this was a reaction to drug or if it is from the LS! I have very sensetive skin. I am useing clobetsol 3-4 times weekly. This barely keeps the itching at bay. I have often upped this to nightly for a few weeks, then back down, but the burning is so intense I don't know what to do with myself. I have talked to my gyn about this many times. He just says that is part of LS!
    • Posted

Have you tried the dietary route? No sugar/dairy/gluten.  Many people find complete relief with this. X
    • Posted

Yeah Protopic burns me, but if I wait one extra day before I use it, the LS burns all day anyway.
    • Posted

Does your Protopic burn all the time, like from one application to the next?
    • Posted