Coming off Venlafaxine.

Posted , 3 users are following.

I've been reducing my Venlafaxine for about 5 months now, starting at 375mg and I’m now down to 93.75mg, which is 2X 37.5mg tablets and a half. Dropping this amount I haven’t noticed much withdrawal apart from a couple bad days a week in to lowering the dose the past 2 times I’ve dropped by 18.75mg. Lately I've become highly stressed and negative and I was hoping this is another withdrawal symptom.

I just wanted to know how others have been getting on coming off this drug.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi damian i tried 375mg for a few days but my mertazipine was a lot better for me with 300mg instead ... There is blno way i would come off my venlafaxine....i dont know why people mess up there medication by reducing it .... If its took you 375mg to feel ok i would not be reducing it i would of just stayed at that and jist kept taking it
    • Posted

it improved my mood but didn't affect my anxiety which was the main problem. i've been on and off antidepressants for 16 years and i've had enough of the probems they are now causing me. i want to control my anxiety without them now.
  • Posted

Hi Damian, I am sure you have a perfectly good reason for wanting to come off your Ven.  I think you are experiencing withdrawal, especially if you feel this is out of character for you and there aren't actual realistic reasons to have these feelings.  In withdrawal, we experience what is termed "neuro emotions," emotions that come from the effects of withdrawal and not "Us."  I have definitely experienced this, both when I was in protracted withdrawal from Effexor, having come off too fast, and also while tappering, having reinstated and then going much slower to come off.