Could it be AS - at my wits end now :(

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi everyone

Im completely new to anything like this but just really need some advice...

I am 45 year old female, since my late teens I have suffered from what I always thought was sciatica, I would get bouts that could last weeks and although no proper diagnosis, DR agreed with me that was what it could be. Ive managed that through the years (and believe sometime the pain has been excrutiating) with various pain relief concoctions. I would also always have an aching back, and if stretch to far its feels like something in lower my back has been ripped. As a florist for nearly 30 years I put most of my aches and pains down to the job (floristry is a hard, cold and very physical job). 

Also at 19 I had my first bout of iritis, Ive had it four times now in all, the last time being in 2009. The eye doctor I saw though it would be a good idea for me to have a blood test as he said iritis is a sympton of something else.

So I had the blood test and it showed the HLA marker, I was then sent to a rheumatologist who took an xray, told me I was hyper mobile and that was it... 

To cut a long story short, I have been back and forwards to the docs since then. Various referels to physio who give me excercises (which I do do) and then dismiss me. My legs now hurt sooo much, all the time in fact, Im not unfit and not overweight (I did leave the florist 2 1/2 years ago) and although work from home, I walk the dog three miles every day. But this is more than aching legs - I cant get up the chair and as for getting up from the floor, forget it. I have to hold on when I go upstairs and lower back is constantly aching

My body feels like that of an old lady. sad

Incidenty I developed a frozen shoulder in January and a lump at the base of my neck which physio said was down to posture!!!

Was back at the docs today who finally said she would refer me again as its sounds very much like AS