crohn's

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi all, my name is nick i have had crohn's for 12 years now and then diagnosed with coilitis just before christmas last year. I have had 6 operations for crohn's upto now removing most of my small bowel. Then in febuary just gone i had more surgery because of colitis, leaving me with a end colostomy. plus they removed more of my small bowel, im penciled in for more surgery after crimbo for a total colectomy and maybe TPN tubes due to lack of small bowel. 

​But the question i want to ask is, does anyone have problems with their colostomy bags coming free from the skin? the problem i have is, im a roofer which involves bending most of the day. I use the salts convex bags and belts BUT! i find they still come away from the skin on the top right hand side next to my scar? they don't come off enough for me to get in a mess, but just down to the convex part. Or so that there is a small gap for wind to escape. I have tried a few differant bags from coloplast with still no joy, if not worse? and pretty soon i will have my stoma for life so i need to sort these little things out.

i will be very greatful for anybodys help or ideas.

0 likes, 20 replies

20 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi nick I can't offer any help but I do hope your future surgery goes well and you can get some help. You have been through so much and I am in amazement that you are still continuing to do such a physical job. Good luck
    • Posted

Hi, thanks for your post and I will keep my fingers crossed, thank you
  • Posted

Hi Nick

I do not know the answer as I do not use same as you but I have found the manufacturers helpful. Salts may have some kind of patient helpline that you could ring. I use micropore to get better adhesion but that may not help you so suggest you contact Salts. Best of luck.

• Posted

Hi, thanks for that, I never thought about asking the company for advice
  • Posted