depression is taking over me

Posted , 4 users are following.

The last few months have been an arwful time for me having lost my work contract and then having my tools stolen. I work as an IT engineer and i havnt had any proper work since september my funds are running out and all i want to do is take a load of tabilets and just end it Ilive with my partner who as had depression but i cant discuss how i feel to her as it will set her off she recently lost her job so we are both out of work and looking every day this is the worst time of year with christmas only around the corner . i have tried to get a grant for more training which is hopless and my hobby writing e-books asnt took off i just feel theres no way out of this mess i think about just endding nearly every night i am 56 and i feel i let myself down getting in this postion where most people my age would be near retiring everything i had as gone into my business and its such a arwful feeling to have when you are stuck in a rot and the only way out is feeling of ending it

1 like, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

Ah no way have you let yourself or anyone down, you've made a great step forward in coming on here to tell your story.  If you can't talk to your partner then look up support groups in your area, if you feel you would be more comfortable over the phone then ring their help number.  

"ending it"?  Very permanent solution to a temporary problem - some years back I was in what I can only describe as a very big dark hole & everything was being thrown on top of me and I couldn't get out, but the first step on getting out of it, I asked for help, yes, it was hard to admit I was depressed, anxious, etc., but such a relief when I spoke to a support group and might I say I cried buckets, I think when they saw me coming they got in extra tissues!  I'm not making light of where you are,  but if I could do it so can you.  Well done on coming on here, you are stronger than you think, take care of yourself.