Diphenhydramine - Nytol One-A-Night 50mg tablets. Scary ! Need some help or advise!

Posted , 20 users are following.

Hi all,

I have been using Nytol one a night for about 2 years with small breaks during this time due to losing my best friend and had always had so much trouble at a young age around 15-16 when I lost both my parents within a year of each other.

I went to the doctors at the start about my sleep but I didn't want anything my body would or could get addicted to and have to withdrawl. He gave me a weeks worth of sleeping tablets and of I went. Didn't go back to see him for a year as I found :

Nytol my savour for helping me sleep. They were brillant for me, I am not a drug user nor will I ever be as I just don't have any interest in them but I have tried some drugs but only once or twice usally when I am totally drunk.

Anyway back to the Nytol, brillant took 1 a night for months worked brillant. Eventually as all things, it was coming to an end, 1 tablet wasn't working. Started to take 2. I was tottally oblivious to any danger if I was to take too much eventually it will end badly. I just thought "its sold over the counter, they is obviously nothing dangerious or anything to worry about".

Also when speaking to friends or my doctor he just said continue to take nytol whilst im on anti depressaints to help me sleep. This was 2 months ago he persribed me citalopram 20mg a day. I had to come of it because the side effects were just awful.

Currently now on Propanolol for aniexty more social than anything never really had panic attacks. He said same again, just continue nytol and try and come of them slowly over time. So I had told my doctor a year and a half later that I am still on nytol but I currently take 4-6 a night, I take 4 before bed and If that doesn't work I take 1/2 throughout an hour or 2 until I fall asleep.