Do I have Carpal Tunnel syndrome?

Posted , 5 users are following.

I have been playing Darts on a regular basis for around 12 years now and for the last 2 years I have had a problem with my right arm/hand/wrist. I have been to see my GP who refered me for an MRI scan of my cervical spine to see if I have a trapped nerve. The results came back clear, as did the results of an xray I had to see if it was a possible joint issue. My doctor has done a test for Carpal Tunnel where he tapped on certain parts of my wrist, again the test showed nothing wrong. My symptoms are pain in the wrist, forearm and elbow after 5-10 minutes darts practice. Dull ache in upper arm and shoulder. Unable to bend forward index finger to palm of hand as with my left index finger. Weak/loose grip from index finger to little finger. Lack of control when gripping dart means I often nearly drop them. Although the Carpal tunnel test was negative, everything I have researched online and the symptoms I have always lead me back to Carpal Tunnel syndrome. Has anyone else suffered with this or does anyone have any other suggestions as to what it could be? I would appreciate any advice please as my GP seems reluctant to help any further.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

It doesn't immediately sound very like CTS from that description but one does meet atypical cases. If you complete the questionnaire at carpal tunnel net it will give you a fairly reliable estimate of the probability that you have CTS. The wrist tapping test (Tinel's sign) is wholly unreliable and no better than tossing a coin at making the diagnosis. Nerve conduction studies or ultrasound imaging are the best tests in cases of diagnostic doubt but they are not perfect either - ultimately there is no absolute way to be completely certain whether you do or do not have CTS I'm afraid. Dr J Bland

• Posted

Hi Drew;

Have they done an EMG test?  You might also ask about tendonitis or Ulna nerve damage?

• Posted