Doctor stopped orlistat

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi all. I'm new to this. My doctor stopped orlistat after 5 months of taking it as he thought I didn't lose enough weight.

I have lost a good amount of weight but because I didn't have time to see doctor for a review for 6 weeks (as I didn't take it for 6 weeks) didn't lose weight after my final review.

I asked my doctor if I can continue but he refused. I need help as I'm putting on weight and need orlistat again. It was unfair my doctor stopped it as for 1 month I didn't lose weight.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi sorry to hear that your GP has taken you off Orlistat. 

You should lose around 5% of your weight within the first 3 months and so on. I lost 1 stone 5lbs in my first 3 months which my GP said was a slow loss. I do have a underactive thyroid which does slow weight loss down and Ive just had a blood test to check my levels which thankfully are normal or my GP would have also stopped my prescription.

I have now lost 1st 9lbs so its still coming off very slowly as Im now nearly into my fifth month, My next review is due in July and Im also worried that my weight loss won't be enough to get another 3 months on the pills.

I currently weigh 13st 1lb and started at 14st 10lbs and Im 5ft 8 so I still have around 2 1/2 stone to lose to get to my ideal weight.

You can buy the pills online without a prescription but they are very expensive or you could buy the Alli which are half the strength but they work out cheaper to buy.