Does anyone find that the Seretide inhaler does not have much effect?

Posted , 2 users are following.

I have been using it for about 4 years now and recently it does not seem to have much effect.

I was watching Bang Goes the Theory tonight and they were talking about the fact that some people do not react well to Salmeterol which is the drug in the Seretide inhaler.

They were giving children with asthma an alternative drug called montelukast and I was wondering if maybe this drug could have more effect for people like me who do not seed to get much relief from Salmeterol.

Has anyone else got any views on this?

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

I suppose there is a difference between not reacting well to a drug and not feeling benefit at all. Seretide has good evidence behind its use in COPD patients - the issue is that regular Seretide is not supposed to stop you feeling acutely out of breath but is supposed to control the underlying disease process. If you have a salbutamol inhaler you should use this for episodes of breathlessness. I appreciate it is difficult to rationalise taking a medicine which doesn't make you feel physically any different it will have a positive effect. I think it may be worth considering discussing this with your GP, in particular inhaler technique and the strength of inhaler you are currently on. Montelukast is not licensed for use in COPD and is only used in asthma patients so wouldn't be suitable in this case. It is not uncommon for children with asthma to stop salmeterol and similar medicines if there is no benefit and to start alternatives such as montelukast.

Tarun (hospital pharmacist)

• Posted

Thank you Tarun, I will speak to my GP when I have my check up in May. I tend not to use the ventolin too often, as my previous GP suggested it would in fact make me worse if I overused it?