Does anyone have a job that requires a lot of walking

Posted , 4 users are following.

Good morning everyone

I was diagnosed with RA 6 months ago, I take 20mg of MTX, 200mg Paquenil, and 15MG of meloxicam. I am a professional dog exerciser at a high end kennel and my job requires me to walk anywhere from 3 to 5 miles a day, up and down hills and on uneven surfaces 5 days a week. I love my job but...

My RA has always affected my ankles and feet, I have great fitting shoes, but my feet and ankles have been absolutely throwing and stiffening up after work., although they do hurt when I am I am wondering if by doing this job is damaging my joints. I know it's important to keep moving with RA but I wonder if this is too much.

I would love to hear from anyone who does a lot of walking and their experience. Or anyone who may have some advice.

Thanks for listening

Lorraine

0 likes, 2 replies

2 Replies

• Posted

Hi:

I was diagnosed with RA 15 years ago. Your medication regimin sounds basically like mine, same drugs but somewhat different doses. Ankles and feet seem to be the epicenter of my RA, along with hands and wrists and occassionally a mystery pain in some random part of my body.

As for joint damage, since you started the drugs very early on you should experience NO joint damage. After 15 years, my rheumatologist cannot find joint damage. 

A friend of mine, now deceased, had RA but did not go to the doctor until his hands had the biggest knuckles I had ever seen. He was always in some kind of agony with the RA. His rheumatologist told him that the damage could have been totally avoided if he had just gotten to the doc in time. 

So I really don't think you will have damage. 

BTW, look into antioxidants as a way of lessening inflammation in your body. Google the spice "turmeric". I use it and it really helps. But I am not a doctor, nor do I sell turmeric. Do what seems right for you.

Best wishes.

• Posted

Hi Lorraine!