Ear infection that won't go away with 2 rounds of antibiotics

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi. My 18 month old toddler has been on 2 different antibiotics to treat his ear infection. We went today for a check up and the infection is still there, so he was prescribed yet another 10 days of antibiotics. I am not happy about having my kid on antibiotics for a month! He doesn't have a fever or pain. Has anyone been on a similar situation? if so, have the antiiotics finally worked? Thank you!

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hello daniela,

I'm sorry to hear about your child’s ear problems.

I have no personal experience of this but I found the following information on the NHS website...

http://www.nhs.uk/conditions/pregnancy-and-baby/pages/coughs-colds-ear-infections.aspx

It would seem that it may naturally clear up if it's virus related, which would explain why the antibiotics hasn't had any positive effect.

In the meantime, keep on top of pain relief, but would personally avoid anti inflammatories like ibuprofen and naproxen, but if it's necessary I would make sure it's only administered after meals, and sorry to get into detail, and check that what is coming out of the other end, if you see any signs of blood, dark red to black (also take into account what's in the diet, as some things come out less digested), and if vomiting occurs, especially with blood, seek medical attention immediately. NSAID's, anti inflammatories, can cause gastric bleeds, especially when used in highddoses, and/or long term.

Always read the Patient Information Leaflet that should come with every prescription and over the counter medicine, and if there isn't one, either ask the pharmacist, or find it online by searching '{insert medicine name here} PIL'.

I hope some of this helps.

Best wishes, hanb

• Posted

Oh, and it is, in my opinion, wise to give your child a pro biotic, like acidophilus, yoghurt, or a pro biotic multi vitamin.

*hugs* hanb

• Posted