Erythromelalgia like symptoms

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi all.  I am beginner here - and have had ET/PV diagnosed when I was 22/23 years old.  I am 43 now.  Most of the years I have had no symptoms - and have "survived" well on low dose aspirin.

I started with phlebotomies in 2013 due to rising rbc.  Did it for a year or so - but as an active cyclist I chose to stop phlebotomies due to physical capacity.  

Last year - in february - I had to start up again with phlebotomies as my hc was high.  A week after first phlebotomy I started to feel warmth and tingling/needles in my feet at night under the sheet.  Since then I have been struggling with feet becoming warm (or warmer), red and tingly/slightly painful whenever it is warm in the surroundings.

In colder surroundings, my feet and hands/fingers, become very cold and whitish.

Anybody else struggling with the same?

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Hello there. 

I am a British woman and in my sixties. About this time last year the fingers in my left hand began to turn a dusky blue, and a few months later on snow white, whenever I went out into the cold. In April, I was diagnosed with PV and initially offered venesections and aspirin as treatment. I had high rbc, high wbc and high platelets. After about nine months or so the rbc and wbc had been reduced but, of course, the platelets remained high.  The blueness/whiteness stopped though the haematologists were rather surprised that it lasted so long. 

Over the same period I began to experience a strange sensation in my feet, as though they had soda water flowing through the veins rather than blood, if that makes any sense. I still have this odd feeling more or less all the time. I am lucky not to have any sensation of heat.

I don't know if that rings any bells with you. I have so far refused offers of hydroxycarbamide and just keep taking aspirin and going along for venesections every once in a while.