ESA Appeal - dreading it

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi, I have been fighting the benefits system for two years now. In 2014 I had to give up my job as every joint in my body was in agony. I was shortly thereafter diagnosed with Joint Hypermobility Syndrome. I went on ESA but failed the medical (0 points). I was completely dismayed but just accepted the decision and went onto JSA. However I was obviously struggling and was advised to go back on the ESA again. However I failed that medical too and the mandatory reconsideration (in which I listed EVERY symptom I had and pointed out that I rely heavily on other people's help) sad. To say I was in despair is an understatement. I sobbed for about an hour after the letter arrived and that night counted out all my co-codamol (37 tablets!) and drank 3/4 litre of baileys. I kept picking up some of the pills and crying. (I have two children btw). In the morning I was scared of how much I had wanted to take them so I threw the pills in the bin and haven't asked for any more.

Yesterday I was FINALLY diagnosed with fibromyalgia (by a rheumatologist). I think this is what I have has all along as she said the hypermobility was minimal. I am basically functioning at 5 to 10% of 'normal'. I am completely exhausted and sleep lots during the day. If I take my dog for a walk it knocks me out, and it's likely I'm not able to do it the next day. I have constant pains and very often find insignificant things like turning a tap difficult. The house is a MESS. SO, why do they keep telling me I am fit for work, when some days I don't even brush my teeth, let alone shower!!!

I am DREADING the tribunal. It's only a month away. I don't know what I will do if it goes badly for me. I have an appointment tomorrow with Citizens Advice to start making my 'case', but I am so terrified.

Sorry, that was a bit long. Just needed to get it out!

0 likes, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

Hi Mari,