Exercise, when can I start and how much

Posted , 6 users are following.

7 weeks recovery tomorrow and I'm feeling good. I've been out walking gently this week built it up to about 30-40 mins. I'm hoping to start swimming next week but would like advice, Can't feel many stitches now so think I could be ready.

im 44 and up until my op I was very active which included swimming 2.5kms a week (100 lengths of a 25m pool twice a week in an hour) I've been doing this for the last 7 years 

obviously im not going to be able to do anything like that at the moment but i would like to do a little swim as I'm missing it so much my body is crying out for the flexibility and weightlessness the pool gives.

how long should I swim for?? And do you think it's ok at 7 weeks?

rectocele and bowl Plication op is what I'm recovering from.

thanks girls

0 likes, 30 replies

30 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Beetlebugmik,

Glad to hear you are recovering well.

Matron or Stephanie (physio),will be able to help you with the question of when and how much swimming you can do.

I am 8 weeks post op and started swimming 2 days ago, rested yesterday, and went to pool again today. Went for my 20 min walk then managed 10 lengths today.

But feel like I overdone it, every time I take a step it is a little painful. So going to test up for a couple of days. Don't think it was the swimming, think it was the walk. I was walking at faster pace than I usually do as my time was limited for getting a lift home.

It is really good to swim as you says it's the weightlessness that gives the freedom to move without pressure on the pelvic floor.

Hope you manage to get started soon,

Phyl ☺☺☺

• Posted

Thank you Phyl, sounds like you are making good progress too and you also like me have a physical job (I work in a special school which can be very demanding physically).