Fear of flashbacks

Posted , 8 users are following.

Please help. I'm so tired of being frightened. I'm very new to PTSD and seem to spend all my time either having a flashback, or fearing having one. Most of my time is spent fearing a flashback, I suppose that's part of hypervigilence....

please, someone tell me it does get better!

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi I hope you are okay. I have just had this conversation with my doctor this evening. She suggest hypnotherapy after I suggested acupuncture. I have tried CBT and counselling for over 5 years and after a good few months it's hit me again with flashbacks and nightmares, night sweats and constant emotions. Hypnotherapy isn't through the NHS only private but she said that it is reasonably priced and just a one off session may be needed. Maybe look into that and see if that is something to consider. I haven't personally tried it myself but my doctor normally gives some good advice. Hopefully that will help x
  • Posted

HEY, this may or may not help. But i know how you feel and it certainly will get better. These things take time and we most control them not allow are thoughts control us. 

Sometimes also facing are fears is the start of dealing with them. If u dont deal with the issues they will always present a problem in your life. 

Have you tried talking to a professional about how u feel?

CBT can be very useful in times like these as it will teach you to control your fears.

Just rememeber we all have good days and we all have bad days..... Its not your fault its just your body dealing with distress.

Hope you are ok. Keep fighting.

• Posted

Hello