Feeling depressed with no1 to talk to who understands :(

Posted , 13 users are following.

Hi everyone, Im new to this and am so glad I found it as I have Felt the only one in the world with Psoriatic Arthritis! I have no one to speak to who understands & im beginning to feel very depressed. I'm only 25 but feel I just can't do a lot without being in pain! I'm always making up excuses to not meet my friends because I'm to tired and to achy. I have 2 children, 5 & 1 (on Saturday) very active little boys and just feel I'm failing as a mother! & as a girlfriend. Doesn't help my boyfriend really doesn't understand either! I'm not writing this for sympathy, just for people to talk to who understands really. Iv just recently gone from methotrexate (made me very sick) to Sulfazalazine (don't know how to spell it) so hoping it begins to work pretty soon! Has it worked for anyone else? Thanks, Sophie.

0 likes, 30 replies

30 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hello Sophie,  I'm sure someone will be along soon, with the same disease as you.

I don't have PsA but have been on Methotrexate, haven't taken  Sulfasalazine and am currently taking Mycophenolate Mofetil.

They usually tell you that these drugs take about 12 weeks to start to work.  I know that I feel washed out a lot of the time & I admire anyone who manages to look after small children too.

You aren't failing as a mother & a girlfriend.  You need support as a family.  I wonder whether there is a support group on Facebook?  I'm sure someone will tell you.

Good luck Sophie.

• Posted

Sophie your not alone and this sight will help and support you when your feeling low and depressed, I don't have your condition but do suffer with other problems so I totally understand.

Is there no leaflets you could ask your partner to read just so he has some understanding of it or take him to your rheumy/doc appointments so he can explain how this condition effects you, I really feel for you Hun especially having little ones.