Feeling rubbish, could it be B12 deficiency as well?

Posted , 4 users are following.

I was diagnosed 25 years ago and have been on levothyroxine and stable at 150mcg until last year. Suddenly levels shot up, dose reduced and stabilised at 125mcg. Thing is I feel awful, exhausted, aching, cold when inactive, unable to concentrate, forgetful and sometimes just plain spaced out! I've never been tested for B12 levels, or anything else for that matter. Any ideas anyone has I'd be interested to hear. Thanks

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hello Jackie:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's thyroid disease since 1987.

B12 can go low and so does Vit D as we age.  B12 helps with making new Red blood cells and in our energy levels.  It is obatined via diet but you can get your blood tested for B12 and B1 and if low it can be replaced.  They used to have it only in injections but now have B12 tablets.

B12 and B1 help the body function correctly and if the levels are down you can see great fatigue and muscle aches and nerve problems, and it can make you feel headaches and poor decision making.  Also worth saying is Vitamin D which really helps muscles and bones.  In women we lose it after age 30 and we lose the ability to get it from sunlight as we age.  So have B12  level and Vitamin D level and B1 level done.

Once it comes back and it can take about a week on the Vit. D level, then your doctor can advise on how much to replace.  I take Vit D supplements also.  I also do a multivitamin daily.  Since we take thyroid meds, do not take these together, make sure 4 or more hours has gone by before taking.  Thyroid meds must be taken alone and on an empty stomach.

I hope this helps.

Shelly

• Posted