Flare Ups

Posted , 6 users are following.

So how long do flare ups usually lasts ?  My eyes have gotten so dry over the last few months that I no longer produce even emotional tears out of my right one (I mean I do a little but nut much and a lot less than the left eye).  Do you think this is a flare up and it will improve  or is this my new normal sad

1 like, 23 replies

23 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I totally hear you Andrea. This is my most pressing query since my symptoms worsened around 5 months ago. I am totally new to SS and would dearly like to understand whether the notion of flare-ups really exists in SS (as in many AI illnesses). Are there real periods of respite / improvement for many sufferers or does it tend to be degenerative and get worse over time? I guess the hard thing is that on a patient forum one tends to hear from those that are not doing so well. The ones that are in remission or doing well tend to wean themselves off the patient support forums. Sending you warm thoughts and courage.
    • Posted

Well I have never been diagnosed with SS   my blood tests were negative.  But I have the extreme dry eyes and neuropathy.  I have read where things do tend to get better  then worse  then better.  Apparently AI disorders work like that.  I just wish  there was something I could do to improve my eyes.  I am on Restasis, all 4 tear ducts plugged and I use steriod drops  with minimal improvement.  So what are your symptoms and how were you diagnosed.
    • Posted

Hello andrea. I have SS i dont have the dryness. But i have aches & pain & neuropathy in the arm

How do you cope with this? Does yours come & go

X

• Posted