Getting worried about my use of co codomol.

Posted , 4 users are following.

About 5 years ago i started taking co codomol due to an operation i had. Over the years i have been taking more and more and becoming hooked on them. At present i would say i tak roughly 10 a day.... I get cranky when i dont have them and my mood plummets. I do genuinely have a bad back for which i am currentl going to hpysio for and co codomol is th only thing that helps keep that pain at bay. I am just concerned that by taking them i am slowly killing myself. I am to scared to talk to my gp as i am a nurse myself.I worry if i tell my gp that i will loose my job. When i get my prescription i get 100 tabs in a box and i would i say i get through them in about 2 weeks. When i run out i ask my mates to borrow some which they do but even now they r starting to ask if i am addicted to them. I dont know who i can turn to for help. any advice would be much appreciated.

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Michael,

I know the feeling of constant pain,would your GP not prescribe an alternative pain killer?I too am on co-codomol,and I know how it is easy to keep taking the tablets;my GP would have prescribed an alternative painkiller but as I have heart problems carried on wit co-codomol.

Sorry I am not much help but all the best for the future.

• Posted

Hi there...

Unfortunately I tried naproxen but they didn't agree with me at all... paracetamol just doesn't touch the pain... tramadols knocks me ill..... they r really the only things tht agree with me....

Thank u

• Posted

Hey 😊 10 a day is probably a small amount as other people can take up to 30 or 60. I used to take co Codamol. A lot of them for about 5 years. I then went old turkey.. I now only about 3 months ago got addicted to Paramol. Which has the same buzz effect. Two weeks ago I went cold turkey on these. I'm quite proud haha.