Grade 2 rectocele and surprise enterocele op in one week

Posted , 12 users are following.

hey everyone,

really looking for for handhold and positive support stories.

I have been putting off for 17 yrs getting my Recotcele repaired and bit the bullet after recently having investigations for abnormal bleeding.

At pre-op appt I also had a enterocele diagnosed, I have a wide gap behind my cervix. I had suspected this but no one has ever mentioned it during examination.

I have repair booked in 1 week, I have started  to take movical and oestin cream.  I have recently been diagnosed with early menopause/perimenopause.

what should I expect?  I can't take codiene or tramadol as my blood pressure and sats drop very low.  What alternatives are there? 

Really hoping to to be able to poo without assisting and have piv again.  Am I being overly optimistic?

2 likes, 93 replies

93 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hello Mossop. There's lots of information on this forum and the website about post op care. If you can't take codeine or Tramadol your best bet is Paracetamol with an anti inflammatory however in the first 24 hours it just may not be enough but if you are monitored correctly there's no reason why you can't be given codeine or Tramadol along with intravenous fluids. That would be the normal procedure. The intravenous fluids keep your blood pressure within normal limits.

• Posted

Thanks Matron,

The site has been helpful and it is reassuring to see so many women having positive experiences.  I am hoping that the pain will be managed okay, I plan to talk to gynae next week as I have additional Pre op appt about this.

hoping that I may be able to have iv paracetamol and oramorph if it gets really bad.  They won't give me codiene or tramadol as I ended up in resus a couple of years ago (I don't really understand why this happened). Really hoping I will be able to get by on just paracetamol, managed c-section on this and a dose of oramorph.

• Posted