Haemochromatosis - Another piece to the puzzle (Hashimoto's Thyroiditis + IBS)

Posted , 4 users are following.

So I was doing some routine tests as I got a new doctor and they found that some of my iron related levels are out of range.  Being a menstruating woman who has been a strict vegetarian for 8 years (ofc no seafood) and having to previously take ferritin supplements (for a short while when I was 16), this has me very concerned.  I'm new to all this and the test results are in Norwegian so I don't know what they really mean.  I'll try to write out the relevant ones and perhaps someone might tell me which is which in English?  Also, I'm going to list my symptoms and see if anyone has been suffering from the same things as me?  Did anyone else with melasma's skin get better after treatment for haemochromatosis?

Also potentially relevant, my urine sample had traces of blood in it.  I'm not on my period right now and they are going to repeat.  They are also sending me for an ultrasound of my kidneys.

S-Ferritin = 32 ug/L (15 - 200)

S-Jern (S-Iron?) = 36.2 umol/L (9.0 - 34.0)

S-Jernbindingskap (no idea what this one is) = 63 umol/L (49 - 83)

S-Jernmetning (Iron Saturation?) = 57% (10 - 50)

S-Vitamin D = 21 nmol/L (50 - 150)  Very low but can't be responsible for all of my symptoms?

HASHIMOTOS:

I was diagnosed with Hashi's at 16 and gradually increased amount to 150mcg over time.  Doctor today wants me to decrease back to 125mcg.  I'm going with it.  I still have my 150mcg if I start to feel so exhausted I'm unable to move...

IBS: