Hemorrhoidectomy Recovery

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hello. I am wondering if anyone could share with me their recovery time for a hemorroidectomy?

I'm scheduled to have one on thursday the 16th.I'm a college student, and I'm hoping to be back in class by the following Wednesday (6 days post op)

I'm terrified about this! I have two small children and a busy life. However, I have stage iv thrombosed internal and external hemorrhoids right now. I was seen in the ER for them this week and was quickly referred to a surgeon who said they must be surgically removed.

I'm happy to be rid of these. They've been plaguing me for years. But I'm worried about the recovery time. I've read many different things. I'm 30 years old and in reasonably good health. Will I really need to be home and bed bound for 2 weeks?

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hi, all the best to you.

With recovery, important thing to note is discovery time really depends many different factors.

I had one 4wks ago and I'm 99% now. I stayed in bed for abt a wk and 2nd week I was very comfortable doing normal activities. You can refer to my post earlier. Lemme know if you have more questions - happy to share.

• Posted

It took me 4 weeks to get back to work. I'm still not good still bleed so hurts like I got a cut there. I'm going for a second opinion this week I wish I would have never done it. I'm 31 former athlete was in great shape. It just depends but get it done by a colorectal surgeon and make sure they're experience. Good luck oh and it's been 7 months for me since surgery.

• Posted

I live in Wyoming, so the only person I could have do it in my town is a general surgeon, not a colorectal surgeon. It is also the only surgeon covered by my insurance. 

I'm in quite a bit of pain already with my thrombosed hemorrhoids. I cant even get the big one to shrink down or be pushed back in. Its pretty painful to have a bm.